PROACT is governed and operates as a separate 501(c)(3), including its own Board of Directors. The PROACT Board of Directors is comprised of members from PROACT’s partner organizations; these are their designated representatives.


Beth L. Hammers, MBA
Marshall Health representative

Hoyt J. Burdick, MD
Vice President
Cabell Huntington Hospital representative

Angie Swearingen
St. Mary’s Medical Center representative

Board of Directors:

Vanessa Bartholomew, PA-C
Cabell Huntington Hospital representative

Daniel Lauffer
Thomas Health System representative

Stephen Petrany, MD
Marshall Health representative

Steven Shattls, MPA
Valley Health representative

Vickie Smith
St. Mary’s Medical Center representative

Michael Haney, LICSW
Director, PROACT

Michael has worked in a variety of capacities in the behavioral health field since 1991, treating both mental health and substance use disorders.  In addition to his work at PROACT, he serves on the faculties of Eastern Kentucky University and the Kentucky Community and Technical College System, where he teaches classes in addiction counseling and social work.  Michael also currently serves as Secretary on the Board of Directors for the Fuller Center for Housing of Ashland and Ironton, Inc.

Michael is a past Clinical Director for Prestera’s Addiction Recovery Center, Director of Behavioral Health for Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital, and Addiction Program Supervisor at Pathways, Inc. Michael has a Master’s Degree in Social Work from the University of Kentucky and is licensed to practice independently in both West Virginia and Kentucky.